Eating Primal: Week Two

–Ugh. Fighting some SUPER intense cravings this week. I knew it was coming, but I seriously almost grabbed every last chocolate in the office. Thankfully I talked myself down. “This is where discipline comes in. This is the moment where the hard choices are made.” I have yet to cheat with office chocolate.

–Surprisingly, my acid-reflux has started to act up a bit. I thought a more whole foods lifestyle would help to eradicate it, but perhaps I’m eating more fruit than I thought. Someone posted on one of the message boards I check that she had the same issue when she stretched her time too thin between meals, mostly because she wasn’t hungry. Something to think about. My chiropractor also recommended a shot of apple cider vinegar every morning to help, which is something I’ve heard a lot about as well.

–I started out wanting to do Paleo, but the more I read about Primal Blueprint the more into that “lifestyle” I’m getting. Even though they’re practically the same thing, I find myself reading a lot of Mark Sisson’s articles and they all make sense. One of his arguments makes a really great case for dairy as a small part of your diet, as long as it’s pastured, grass-fed, raw milk, which is great, because that’s the only kind I like (and buy) now. Yogurts, kefirs and hard cheeses are so good for your gut flora that I’m thinking I’ll probably add it back in to my diet, with the caveat that I make it myself.

–Had a strange…”episode”…on Wednesday night/Thursday. I left work feeling dizzy, light-headed, and head-nauseated. I was so dizzy I couldn’t skate very long, and ended up going to bed early that night. I called in to work the next day, but I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me. Finally I figured out that I hadn’t eaten enough calories the day before! Believe me friends, that has NEVER happened! I remember being voraciously hungry even after my lunch of leftover shepherd’s pie, but I just chalked it up to my appetite. NOPE. So Thursday I spent most of the day eating and watching movies from my couch. I still felt crummy, but at least I didn’t feel ready to pass out. Lesson learned–if i’m not going to eat easy sugars for my brain, I need to make sure I’m putting enough vegetables and meat in my body to compensate. For the first time in my life, I needed to eat more 🙂

–So, I cheated. Just a little bit, and just because I was desperate. NO it was not a raspberry-filled sugar doughnut at work (although that was a tough one). It’s the little things that get me–my favorite salad dressings (Brianna’s Poppyseed) has sugar. My homemade ranch uses vegannaise (soy=no no). And I broke down and had a touch of ketchup (sugar!). While I’m proud that I haven’t really gone beyond the self-set limitations, I’m irritated that I can’t, or won’t bother, to find alternatives.  And while I understand I need to have a healthy balance of body healthy vs mental healthy, I wanted to do this first month 100%. I’m still debating whether or not to allow myself cheat days. I’m torn because I really wanted January to be the month I quit those things before adding them back in. I know my lifestyle will be 80/20, but I wanted to go 100 for at least a month. But just in case, I bought a bar of orange dark chocolate. To be consumed slowly, and only occasionally.

–Ugh. It happened. It was my father’s birthday, which meant that my mother baked a delicious chocolate cake. I told her “no thank you”, but you know how mothers can be. So I ended up breaking my month-long 100% rule, and had a tiny sliver of cake. TINY. Shouldn’t really be considered a “piece” of cake. >.> ok, ok.

–This weekend I experimented a little and made a “rogan josh” lamb stew that is out of this world! I made a Rogan Josh spice (and there are a LOT of ingredients) and made this stew Sunday night. I’ll be hard-pressed to make it last a few lunches–it’ll probably be gone in a day or two! Seriously, super delicious, and I didn’t feel guilty at all about eating two bowlfuls–all vegetables and good animal fats. Proudest moment this week for trying something I normally would consider too difficult to try.

–I also broiled a piece of Chilean sea bass in an effort to eat more fish, and I roasted beets with balsamic vinegar and some other vegetables, and the meal turned out amazing! I had a hard time believing that some of those delicious smells were coming from my oven.

I took those “first week” pictures I mentioned last week, but upon further reflection, have decided not to post weekly photos. To preserve whatever sense of mystery I may still have in this imaginary universe. (ok let’s be honest–I’m embarrassed beyond belief!) I’ll post before & afters…when there’s an “after” i can still be proud of. Go ahead, call me out on it. I know I’m not quite being accountable & transparent, but we all have our issues.

My goal for this next week is to not let the little things get to me–going without homemade ranch, not needing ketchup for roasted sweet potatoes, etc. And especially after having such success with the  lamb stew, shepherd’s pie, fried trout, and sea bass, I’m really geared up and ready try more new things that aren’t in my normal repertoire, such as a chicken curry. But we’ll see–I don’t want to box myself in. I like going to the market and coming home with an adventure.

p.s: this week’s menu (I still can’t figure out how to get a decent-sized jpg inserted!) is trapped within my computer. which i know you care about so much. let’s just say there was a lot of salad, avocado, and shepherd’s pie eaten (THREE TIMES!)

That is all.

One comment

  1. Melissa Joulwan (@melicious11) · January 14, 2013

    Congratulations on trying the Rogan Josh — that. is. awesome. YAY!

Leave a Reply

